We gave the couch and pillows the slip

I love craft weekends with my sister – she’s so creative and inspiring. My last visit took a practical turn of the needle. Sis had just slip covered her couch in a light color (see photo), but her throw pillows no longer worked. Since we already had four forms, we decided we would make four covers. Sis bought home decor weight fabric from a big box fabric shop in a soft white. I cut four fronts to match each pillow size, then Sis dug out her acrylic paints.

Sis painted the Matisse-inspired pillow free hand, then used a stencil for the red dotty circles. I painted the cat pillow from a photo. Finally, Sis painted the yellow-gold chevrons for the pillow. Once the fronts were dry, I sewed simple envelope covers. Voila! Sis is happy and that makes me happy.

2 thoughts on “We gave the couch and pillows the slip

Leave a Reply

