The creative process in fits and starts

While digging out photos of my grandson R’s baby quilt, I ran across this photo. This quilted throw was a gift to my daughter when she turned 18 (she’s in her mid-twenties now).

I want new quilters to know that when you sew/quilt (seriously) you will have many projects going on at the same time. Some you will get done lightening fast, others will drag on by, and a few are best if abandoned altogether. It’s all part of the process.

The story here is I started this quilt as a Sweet Sixteen gift. I struggled and put it aside for some time. I completed it two years later and renamed it her Coming of Age quilt.

I highly recommend this method of making things right when a gift quilt is involved. Ha!

One thought on “The creative process in fits and starts

  1. I remember this quilt!!! AND that polka dot green fabric! Trying to match that fabric was a lesson to me in always buying a little bit more than you think you’ll need. You can always have fun playing with extra scraps later.

Leave a Reply

